You Should Crossword

and the greatest USB drives in the history of computing

Hello hello!

Welcome to The Flying P, a weekly newsletter covering your Phipps Center for the Arts and anything else I might want to throw your way.

Have you been playing the weekly crossword, which I’ve lovingly titled The Flying C(rossword)? If not, you’re missing out. If yes, how’s the difficulty? Too hard? Too easy? Just right? Hit reply and lemme know.

If you’re like “what the heck is Ben talking about” hit the button at the very bottom of this email. 👇

This issue has…

  • Your Fave Phipps Things
    your responses give me life

  • A Philip Daniel Sneak Peek
    not gonna lie it’s pretty neat

  • A Parade Pic
    it was wet but we did it

red squiggly content break
FEEDBACK

A few of your favorite things

I’ve been receiving lots of great responses to The Flying P’s welcome email question “What’s your favorite thing about the Phipps,” so I thought I’d share a few (they’ve all been really great).

If you sent one in, thanks for touching base!
If you didn’t send one in, YOU OWE ME.

I love the location!

Sydney

The design of the theater 😃 

Joseph

I love the sense of a welcoming community at the Phipps, and the great volunteer opportunities.

Alicia

My favorite thing about the Phipps is the tiny, sunlit gallery room, upstairs, with a view that looks out to the water.

Susan

So far, my favorite part of the Phipps has been the pottery class.

Renée

Great restaurants nearby for a pre-show or post-show snack, or just go for a casual walk by the river or down the street.

Tony

My current favorite thing about the Phipps is that they have a newsletter about flying pee.

Jennifer
Kermit The Frog No GIF by Muppet Wiki

It helped me find my new passion: ceramics 😁😁

Sara

My favorite thing about the Phipps is the awesome kids camps that you offer in the summer!

Beth

My favorite thing about the Phipps is the rockstar staff (especially the production team).

Lauren

My favorite thing to do at the Phipps is tap dance. My friends and I have been doing this for at least 15 years.

Barb

I enjoy the behind-the-scenes tours of the Phipps [Phipps Community Day]!

Toby

My favorite thing about The Phipps is that it has 6 Councils which all play an active part in the many things happening at the Phipps!!

Carol

It is a promise of nourishment for artistic endeavors that is accessible to me.

Anonymous Reader

😊 

PHIPPS TOP 10
best-selling upcoming events this season by tickets sold…

1. The Drowsy Chaperone (previously: 1)
2. I Am Woman…. presented by Lori Dokken (previously: 2)
3. Prancer (previously: 3)
4. Mysterious Old Radio Listening Society (previously: 4)
5. The Andrews Sisters Onstage: a Jen Burleigh-Bentz production (previously: 7)
6. Transyl-Mania (previously: 9)
7. Colleen Raye’s NYE (previously: 5)
8. Underneath the Lintel, or: The Mystery of the Abandoned Trousers (previously: 6)
9. Silent Sky (previously: 8)
10. A Brass & Organ Holiday (previously: 10)

BETTER HURRY LIST
best-selling upcoming events this season by percent sold
(i.e., closest to being sold out)…

1. I Am Woman…. presented by Lori Dokken (previously: 2)
2. Underneath the Lintel, or: The Mystery of the Abandoned Trousers (previously: 1)
3. Mysterious Old Radio Listening Society (previously: 3)
4. Cabaret Night at the Phipps (fall) (previously: 5)
5. The Andrews Sisters Onstage: a Jen Burleigh-Bentz production (previously: 4)

as of 8/19/24
SPECIAL EVENTS

Oh, this is gonna be fun

Okay, I know I promised The Flying P wouldn’t be a marketing email, but I can’t not mention this upcoming event.

Philip Daniel. PCA Black Box. September 22nd.
How cool is this guy??
I’m excited. Be excited with me.

👆
my favorite gallery piece of the week
This one makes me stop every time I walk past it.
Check it out upstairs in the Riverview Gallery.

DEEP DESK DIVE

These ARE the USB drives I’m looking for

Nobody:

Me: LOOK AT THESE COOL STAR WARS USB DRIVES I GOT I CAN’T WAIT TO STORE ALL SORTS OF DOCUMENTS ON THESE I AM NOW AT LEAST 47% COOLER WOOOOOO WEEEEEEEEEEEE!!

Darth Vader and Yoda USB drives on a desk

neato

Darth Vader and Yoda USB drives on a desk with their caps off

I mean, c’mon…how fun are these

Listen, we all need to nerd out occasionally. Even at work.

a group of people getting ready to walk in a parade

the Pepper Fest parade: wet but fun

How much do you know about the Phipps?
Try The Flying C(rossword) and find out.
👇

red squiggly content break

Talk to you next week!

The Flying P small logo

Reply

or to participate.